FDD Analysis Report

Sylvan Learning

FDD Year: 2026Current
Analysis Date: September 11, 2026

Key Metrics At-a-Glance

Franchise Fee

$36,900

Total Investment

$68,300 - $95,300

Royalty

See FDD

of gross sales

Brand Fund

See FDD

of gross sales

Initial Term

See FDD

System Size

See FDD

Avg Revenue

N/A

Not disclosed

About This Franchise

# Sylvan Learning Franchise Intelligence Report

## Executive Summary

Sylvan Learning is an established education franchise with lowest investment in category ($108K-$239K) but highest royalty rates (11-12%). The franchise fee of $36,900 includes all program licenses. Top 25% of territories average $811K in revenue. Veteran discount of 5% on franchise fee. Extensive marketing requirements beyond royalty.

## The Business

Sylvan provides personalized tutoring, test preparation, and academic programs for K-12 students. Services include traditional tutoring plus Sylvan Edge and ACE IT! specialized programs. The brand emphasizes personalized learning plans and progress tracking. One of the oldest tutoring franchises with extensive brand recognition.

## The Numbers

- **Total Investment**: $107,922 - $239,012 - **Franchise Fee**: $36,900 (includes all program licenses) - **Royalty**: 11% of gross sales (12% for Sylvan Edge/ACE IT!) - **National Advertising**: 5% of gross sales - **Local Marketing**: 6% of gross sales or $1,500/month minimum - **Grand Opening**: $10,000 - $15,000 required - **Net Worth Required**: $150,000 - **Liquid Assets Required**: $75,000 - **Top 25% Revenue**: $810,698 - **Veteran Discount**: 5% off franchise fee - **Term**: 10 years (two 5-year renewals)

## System Health

Sylvan operates as one of the established tutoring brands with decades of experience. The top 25% performance ($811K average) provides benchmark for strong operators. The extensive fee structure (11% royalty + 11% marketing) creates 22% combined ongoing fees which significantly impacts margins.

## Franchisee Experience

The franchise fee includes all current program licenses, avoiding additional program costs. However, the combined royalty (11%) and marketing (11%) fees total 22% of gross sales - among the highest in any franchise category. The grand opening requirement of $10K-$15K ensures proper launch marketing.

## Risk Assessment

**HIGH - Extremely High Fees**: 11% royalty + 11% marketing = 22% combined ongoing fees

**MODERATE - Competition**: Kumon, Mathnasium, Huntington, and online tutoring compete

**MODERATE - Marketing Minimums**: $1,500/month minimum local marketing regardless of revenue

**LOW - Investment Level**: $108K-$239K is lowest in tutoring category

**LOW - All-Inclusive Fee**: Franchise fee includes all program licenses

## Competitive Position

Sylvan competes with Kumon (lowest royalty), Mathnasium (math-focused), Huntington (9.5% royalty), and online platforms. Sylvans 22% combined fees are significantly higher than competitors. The low initial investment offsets with high ongoing costs. Brand recognition provides marketing advantage.

## Validation Questions

1. How do the 22% combined fees affect your actual profitability? 2. How does your revenue compare to the top 25% benchmark ($811K)? 3. How do you justify Sylvans fees versus lower-royalty competitors? 4. What is the value of the included program licenses? 5. How effective is the 11% marketing spend? 6. How do you compete with online tutoring platforms? 7. What is the realistic timeline to profitability with these fee structures?

## Data Gaps

- Median/average unit performance not disclosed (only top 25%) - Franchisee satisfaction with fee structure not published - Comparison of Sylvan Edge vs standard program performance unavailable - Net margins after 22% fees not disclosed

## Verdict: CAUTIOUS

Sylvan offers the lowest investment in tutoring ($108K-$239K) but the highest ongoing fees (22% combined). The math only works if revenues approach the top 25% benchmark ($811K). At lower revenue levels, the fixed marketing minimums and high percentages severely impact profitability. Consider lower-royalty alternatives like Kumon or Mathnasium unless confident in achieving top-quartile performance.

Investment Analysis

Initial Investment Breakdown

The total initial investment ranges from $68,300 to $95,300.

Expense CategoryLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$36,900$36,900
TOTAL ESTIMATED INITIAL INVESTMENT$68,300$95,300

Ongoing Fees

Fee TypeAmountNotes
RoyaltySee FDD of Gross Revenue-
Brand FundSee FDD of Gross Revenue-

Item 19: Financial Performance Representations

No Financial Performance Representations

This franchisor does not provide Item 19 financial performance representations. Approximately 35% of franchisors choose to disclose this information.

Recommendation: Request financial information directly from existing franchisees listed in Exhibit I during your due diligence. Contact 10-15 franchisees to gather revenue and profitability data before making an investment decision.

Learn more about Item 19 disclosures →

Risk Assessment

Items to Review

No notable items identified

Positive Indicators

Review FDD for positive factors

Due Diligence Recommendations

P1

Contact 10-15 existing franchisees to gather operational and financial insights

Franchisee interviews are the most valuable source of information about day-to-day operations and realistic financial expectations.

P2

Have a franchise attorney review the Franchise Agreement

Professional legal review can identify unfavorable terms and potential negotiation points.

P3

Research local market conditions and competition

Understanding your specific market is essential for success, regardless of system-wide performance.

Download Complete FDD

Access the full Franchise Disclosure Document including all 23 items, exhibits, and financial statements.

Browse Similar Franchises

Learn More About FDDs

New to franchise investing? Our educational guides will help you understand what to look for in the Sylvan Learning FDD.

About Sylvan Learning Franchise

Sylvan Learning is a franchise that offers entrepreneurs the opportunity to own and operate their own business within an established system. As of the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, the franchise continues to expand its footprint nationwide. This analysis provides prospective franchisees with key insights from the FDD to support informed investment decisions.

Sylvan Learning Franchise Cost

The total initial investment required to open a Sylvan Learning franchise ranges from $68,300 to $95,300. This investment includes the initial franchise fee of $36,900, along with expenses for real estate, equipment, inventory, training, and working capital to sustain operations during the initial period. Ongoing fees include a royalty fee of See FDD of gross sales. Prospective franchisees should review Item 7 of the FDD for a complete breakdown of estimated initial investment costs.

Sylvan Learning Item 19 Financial Performance

Sylvan Learning does not provide financial performance representations in Item 19 of their FDD. Approximately 35% of franchisors choose to disclose this information. Without franchisor-provided financial data, prospective franchisees should contact existing franchisees directly to gather information about revenue, expenses, and profitability. The franchisee contact list in Exhibit I provides names and contact information for current and former franchise owners.

Sylvan Learning Franchise Growth and System Health

The Sylvan Learning franchise system has shown stable performance based on unit count data from Item 20 of the FDD. Prospective franchisees should examine the historical data on unit openings, closings, and transfers to understand the system's trajectory and identify any concerning trends.

Sylvan Learning Franchise Investment Considerations

The Sylvan Learning FDD contains important disclosures that prospective franchisees should carefully review before making an investment decision. Key factors to evaluate include the franchise fee structure, ongoing royalty requirements, territory rights, termination history, and franchisor support systems. Every franchise investment carries risk, and this analysis should be combined with professional legal and financial advice. Review the complete FDD and speak with current franchisees to gain a comprehensive understanding of the opportunity.

Due Diligence Recommendations for Sylvan Learning

Before investing in a Sylvan Learning franchise, prospective franchisees should:

  • Contact multiple existing franchisees to gather operational and financial insights
  • Have a franchise attorney review the Franchise Agreement and all exhibits
  • Research local market conditions and competitive landscape
  • Develop a detailed business plan with realistic financial projections
  • Verify all information provided by the franchisor independently

Download the Sylvan Learning FDD

Access the complete Sylvan Learning Franchise Disclosure Document, including all 23 Items, exhibits, franchise agreement, and audited financial statements. FreeFDDs provides free access to FDDs to promote franchise transparency and help prospective franchisees make informed decisions. The FDD contains critical information that should be reviewed in its entirety before making any investment decision.

Disclaimer

This analysis report is provided for informational purposes only. The data presented has been extracted from the Franchise Disclosure Document and may contain errors or omissions.

Prospective franchisees should conduct their own due diligence, review the complete FDD document, and consult with qualified legal and financial advisors before making any investment decisions.